PDA

View Full Version : Am i crazy!?!

johnsupertramp
12-28-2005, 07:25
So heres the plan. I have no idea how i'm getting to Maine BUT.... I will. I have no idea how I'm getting home from georgia BUT..... I am. I know how to get from Maine to Georgia and those are at the ends of my legs. I am extremely new to hiking although i did do one long hike with the Boy Scout: 11 miles or so and they all started talking about the AT. I saw the AT and decided i was going to do it one day. Recently everything has changed in my life such as laid off from work, lost gf, think my car is going to blow up etc. I'm curently in college and 20 years of age I just started buying camping stuff and got it into my mind to go SOBO in June. I'm very physically capable. Here's my question... omiting fincial techincalities am i off my rocker and what advice would you heed to someone whos going to fly by the seat of their pants and do the damn deal?

Lone Wolf
12-28-2005, 08:09
You're perfectly normal. I did the same thing when I did my first thru-hike. Just do it.

MOWGLI
12-28-2005, 08:39
You're not crazy, but I might change my opinion if you do no hiking between now and June. Us the next six months to understand what you're getting in to. There is no substitute for backpacking when preparing for the AT.

Good luck.

sparky2000
12-28-2005, 09:26
What choices do you have? Doctors cost a lot more then the AT - swimming gets one wet - cars are for the wife -

RedneckRye
12-28-2005, 10:04