PDA

View Full Version : Maryland on the AT

JLorenzo77
04-26-2016, 13:17
I'm a novice by hiking standards. In fact, if I were to write a book, I'd call it 'A walk to the woods.' I didn't get into hiking until very recently and as I approach 40 (13 months away), I find myself regretting not having found it sooner. Between family responsibilities and work, it's hard getting out there. And I may not be particularly good at hiking considering I've dislocated a shoulder and sprained a knee while doing it.

I've covered Maryland and WV thus far on the AT. I know most folks consider these states the easiest of the entire trail. As someone who hasn't set foot in any other state, I can't really disagree. What I can say is that in my opinion, the MD section of the trail has everything I want. The views are amazing, it's steeped in history and I can cover 25 miles in a day with only feeling like I died a little.

As I expand outward, I just wanted an opinion as to whether I should venture south into Virginia or north into Pennsylvania? Of course, I hope to experience both but since I seem to have limited opportunities right now, I'm curious about your experiences in both of these states and where I should start.

I looked at Snicker's Gap, VA to Harper's Ferry and that seems interesting.

Glad to have found this great community.

-Josh

peakbagger
04-26-2016, 13:39
Southern PA has some nice hiking, once you hit the infamous rocks after the Cumberland Valley its less fun. I would probably head south into VA and leave the central and northern PA rocks for later.

JLorenzo77
04-26-2016, 13:45
Southern PA has some nice hiking, once you hit the infamous rocks after the Cumberland Valley its less fun. I would probably head south into VA and leave the central and northern PA rocks for later.

Thanks, Peak. I've heard nasty things about those rocks up in PA.

chknfngrs
04-26-2016, 14:01
Either way you go, you'll love it

rafe
04-26-2016, 14:31