PDA

View Full Version : Mt Rogers / Grayson Highlands weather this week

doingtime
05-23-2016, 09:39
Looking to get a day or two loop in around Mt Rogers this week. Never been to the area, but I read a lot of info on the quickly changing weather conditions. The temps look great this week, but I wanted to ask any experts in the area what I might expect??

Gambit McCrae
05-23-2016, 10:31
Not that I am an expert but I went thru that area from Elk garden to Teas RD about a year ago. had great weather the whole trip. I know that the winter weather up there is quite a bit more extreme then what the local weather will be in towns below but during this time of year I wouldn't worry too much about it, especially with how well VA is looking weather wise this weekend. I am going up to SNP this Wednesday night with the anticipation of 20-50% rain pretty much the entire week. Should be fun :)

Sounds like you are doing a loop trip? I don't know what you have or have not seen on the perimeters of the park (Grayson Highlands), but I would like to suggest going to the lengths of Elk Garden and Fox Creek during your stay there. The lewis fork wilderness was very pretty in the spring time, and the grassy ridge on elk garden was nice as well, I camped there.

Tuckahoe
05-23-2016, 11:40
For current and historic weather conditions I use this link -- http://www.graysonfriends.org/pages/ww.html

cutter
05-23-2016, 13:24
Every time I was in that area the weather has been significantly different from one day to the next. A few summers ago it was 80-degrees F one day and low 50s the next. When I was there last January it was upper 40s the first day and single digits the last. So my advice is to plan for extremes. The forecasts based on lower elevations will not be helpful to you.

AThkr
05-26-2016, 16:01