PDA

View Full Version : Shoe recommendation for Pennsylvania AT section hike

steve_zavocki
06-06-2016, 07:39
Hiking tomorrow from Wind Gap to Delaware Water Gap which is 15.4 miles. I own hiking boots (Merrill) and also hiking shoes (Merrill). Down South on the AT, I always hike in the low cut hiking shoes now. However I have heard that PA is very rocky and hard on the ankles. This is my first time hiking in PA.

Both the shoes and boots are broken in and fit well. Any recommendations.

rocketsocks
06-06-2016, 07:44
I'm runnin' (but not really runnin') brooks cascades 11's w/ballistic rock plate in forefoot, really save the metatarsals.

"run what cha brung" you'll be fine.

Carbo
06-06-2016, 09:03
Just finished the PA section with Merrill boots. They did fine, more important was the focus on foot placement and paying attention to any ankle or foot pain. Rest as needed and keeping your mind fresh on the trail will help you get through.

Good luck on the adventure!
-Carbo

u.w.
06-06-2016, 09:18
I just did from MD (PenMar Park) up to Port Clinton last week (Fri 27 - Thu 2). I started with a more or less new pair of Brooks Ghosts. They're pretty shredded now, lol. The toe ends of the shoes were what took the shredding. As in, the toe areas of both shoes are more gone than there.
Having said that, with the mileage you talking (15.4 miles), I don't think it will matter to much between either of the shoes you're asking about.
Go with the ones that are most comfortable and have the best grip.

Make sure you watch your footing, and most definitely enjoy your hike!

u.w.

Nooga
06-06-2016, 10:53

u.w.

I agree with these comments!

Hang R
06-06-2016, 21:07
With being from Pa I believe people make the rocks out to be worst than they actually are. Wear whatever is comfortable. I have been known to hike in sandals at times just for something different but I prefer either trail runners or low top Keen's.

Malto
06-06-2016, 21:59