PDA

View Full Version : Trail Names

SkeeterPee
06-08-2016, 23:22
So I came up with SkeeterPee because it sounds kind of like a trail name. Combining skeeters and Pee, Both common along the trail. But really Skeeter Pee is a name of a fermented lemonade that home wine makers make. I'll ferment 18 gallons of this stuff at a time.

So I was out backpacking in PA with my son and I kept catching my toe on rocks and flipping them over, so he said I should change my trail name to Rock Flipper. Its got a nice ring to it and it is certainly there are worse trail names someone might make up for you. I might switch since he came up with it and I'm new to this anyway. How's Rock Flipper sound

How many trail names have you had? Share if you want.

RoamingGentile
06-09-2016, 07:06
Sounds to me

runt13
06-09-2016, 07:26
SkeeterPeeRockFlipper

don't think it will ever be duplicated

RUNT ''13''

MtDoraDave
06-09-2016, 07:44
I don't think there are any "rules" to trail names, but it is my opinion that one shouldn't name himself (or herself).

My hiking partner tried to call me "adjective Dave" because I can be friendly Dave, grumpy Dave, patient Dave, helpful Dave, etc... I told him that I refuse such a cop-out of a name and that the word Dave doesn't even have to be in the trail name - preferably not.
When telling this story to a girl who worked at Amicalola, she said "we'll call you Professor"... which didn't stick.
Last trip, when I told one bubble of thru's that I didn't have a trail name, that I was just Dave, they called me Just Dave. Another group I met with called me Slippery Dave, because I slipped and fell on the ice several times.
None of these names has stuck... throughout my life, nicknames don't stick. I said I should go by Teflon because trail names don't stick...