PDA

View Full Version : Rhododendron flowers at Carvers Gap/Roan Mountain/AT?

Heather1027
06-10-2016, 14:25
This may seem like an off the wall question so forgive me. I'm a photographer, lol.

I might day hike the AT in 10 days with the purpose of photographing the rhododendron flowers at Carver's Gap/Roan Mountain. I know there are two trails, one you get on the AT by crossing the parking lot to the fence. The other one I'm assuming is at the parking lot? Which trail is where I will find the flowers?

I'm also going again over July 4th to hike from Carver's Gap to 19e, will the flowers still be in bloom? Just curious in case something comes up and I can't make it there on the 20th.

Sorry for the weird question, my daughter will be at orientation at App State and I have a full day of nothing to do. Figured I would take a hike. :)

Gambit McCrae
06-10-2016, 16:03
Not a weird question at all. If you driver up the road, (vertically)not past carvers but up to cloudland resort site, there is a dead end trail that will take you to a porch of sorts that overlooks the largest of the rhodo gardens.

If you get on the AT and hike north from carvers gap, you will see lots of rhodo in bloom.

You can also call the state park visitor center, and state you are planning a trip to their park..."are the rhodos in bloom?" and they will happily explain what stage the rhodos are in ei blooming or past bloom

MuddyWaters
06-10-2016, 20:48
Well, peak is usually about third week of june.
Theres a handful of professional photographers which start hiking up top of Jane Bald from the gap every morning to take pics starting in early june. Weather can knock blooms down overnight, or light is poor, hazy, etc. Only once every couple yrs do they get the really good pics they are after .

There will be some blooms always, the real photo hounds are after the money shots, and they are rare.

rocketsocks
06-11-2016, 00:37
Well, peak is usually about third week of june.