PDA

View Full Version : Best features when using a Compass ?

BongoTheOneEyed
07-23-2016, 17:54
Im new to understanding and using compasses for map navigation.

Could anyone experienced with using compasses offer some suggestions as to which additional features are reccomended? some ive' seen come with mirrors and sighting lines and metrics on the sides but i dont understand what is most useful and why.

Also, reccomended compass brands and model recommendations would be helpful.

Thanks !

garlic08
07-23-2016, 18:54
What are you using it for? Do you need +/- two degree accuracy for orienteering? You might want a mirror and sights. If you just want to orient a map to the world and account for magnetic declination, you don't need that cost and weight but an outer compass ring is handy. But you need to be able to read a map, too. The best tool in the world is worthless without appropriate training.

Frankly, I've only sighted with a compass once on a hike, and my cheap model without a mirror worked okay for that. I carry a $10 model, and some friends make do with the toys that come on the handles of trekking poles or in gumball machines.

I've had a Silva brand for four decades and have gotten it replaced twice under a lifetime warranty. That's impressive.

I've used very nice compasses as a wildland firefighter, taking sights for triangulating on distant fires. I wouldn't carry one of those compasses on a hike.

Vegan Packer
07-23-2016, 19:06
If you ever plan to go outside of the northern hemisphere, make sure to get a "global compass." I also like compasses that have adjustment for declination. (Check on YouTube for explanation of this term.) The Suunto M3 Global (http://www.suunto.com/en-US/Products/Compasses/Suunto-M-3-Global/Suunto-M-3-G-Compass/) is what I use, because it has full features balanced with size and weight.

BongoTheOneEyed
07-23-2016, 19:06