PDA

View Full Version : Deciding between NOBO and SOBO

KTontheAT
07-31-2016, 23:12
Hey y'all, I have a question that I've been mulling over for a few years now. I've been planning on hiking the AT when I graduate from college in 2017. I was hoping to graduate early so I could NOBO in March 2017 but it looks like I wont be graduating until May. I REALLY want to hike from GA to ME, because any other way just feels wrong and anticlimactic. However, if the only way I will be able to thruhike the entire trail is from hiking SOBO, then I will definitely do that.

SO, my question. Is it possible that if I start May 15th in GA, that I would be able to finish the trail in ME on time? I've read over some Baxter State Park regulations, and it seems they don't let people summit Katahdin past October 15th. Is this true? I would hate to make it all the way to Maine and be past the deadline to summit, if it's strictly enforced. Is it possible to complete the trail in 5 months? Or would I be pushing it too much to be starting so late in GA?

rafe
07-31-2016, 23:32
You can certainly make it with an early May start but you'll need to keep a decent steady pace. Most thru hikes take about five months, give or take a few weeks.

rhjanes
08-01-2016, 00:32
There are new rules in place in Baxter. So check on that. But I believe the park closes for OVER NIGHT camping no later than October 15. Earlier at ranger discretion. The issue becomes, you have to be at the gate when they open it, drive in, register, and it is roughly an 8 hour hike up and back....then you have to exit the park (no over night). Hence the issues with "climbing after October 15th".
As noted, if you go fairly light weight on pack, don't party in every town and keep going. Should be doable for you.