PDA

View Full Version : Thru-Hike deadlines that didn't really work out...

SamBrooks_01
08-13-2016, 11:46
Earlier this year I was planning to Thru-Hike in 2017. I've got some experience but I've never been on a "real" long-distance backpacking trip, so I wanted to go do the Foothills Trail in September (mostly because of how I could've worked it out with the day job). Unfortunately, due to both work and family situations out of my control, I can't make it to the Foothills, at least when I wanted to.

I MAY have a new plan, so I'm looking for any advice yall could give:

New Plan 1: I wait until 2017 when I actually have a couple weeks of vacation time built up, do the Foothills, and the AT will probably be pushed off for another year. I don't want to push it off because I've got other career deals that will be coming up at about the time I'd be hiking, big things I've been waiting years for and if they come up when I'm out I probably won't ever get them again.

New Plan 2: I just save every penny (pretty much doing it anyway) and wait for tax time. Take my check and dip out for the AT, even if I didn't get to do another trail before. The biggest thing holding me back for the time being is money anyway. I'd love to be able to just run on to the trail and not worry about cash, just live and hike one day and mile at a time. But I've got certain things, I'll have to deal with at home and on the trail, that will cost me. Definitely possible, but it'll take money.

Anyway, earlier on I posted on here a few times and got some cool advice from some of yall. Like I said, I still don't know what I'll do, but any advice is good advice.

Sam

Slo-go'en
08-13-2016, 15:32
Or plan "C", do half a thru hike, like GA to WV.