PDA

View Full Version : What's a feasable distance to cover in an average day?

franklin73
09-13-2016, 05:18
I'm planning on doing some Georgia sections of the AT. What's an expected distance to cover in one day? I'm REALLY new to learning about the AT and I'm not sure how far between camping spots that allow a fire or shelter locations. Any help is appreciated.

rocketsocks
09-13-2016, 06:21
Generally speaking shelters are anywhere from 10-15 miles apart...not set in stone. Topography is prolly the biggest factor, and personal condition. But again generally speaking, 12-15 miles for a hiker isn't that hard.

rocketsocks
09-13-2016, 06:23
...and just so ya know, some folks (not many) are pretty super human and can cover a distance of 40-60 miles in a day.

franklin73
09-13-2016, 06:46
I'm 43, have lost 80 pounds this year and still around 100 to go. However, I am hiking 5-8 miles on Sunday mornings right now, to build my stamina and train somewhat. I'm not in to going fast in the woods. I'd rather take my time and enjoy the scenery. Are there camping locations available where a fire can be built say every 8 miles or so?

bigcranky
09-13-2016, 06:54
You are in luck. In Georgia, the first part of the trail breaks up pretty nicely into four or five 8-mile days.

Amicalola Falls to Springer on the Approach Trail, moderately difficult
Springer to Hawk Mountain, fairly moderate
Hawk to Gooch Mountain, several tough climbs early on
Gooch to Lance Creek tent sites, not too bad
Lance Creek to Neels Gap, tough climb over Blood Mountain

If you start at Springer, you get a four day >30 mile hike. Starting at the bottom at the state park adds a day.

Get one of the hiker guidebooks (Thru-Hiker's Companion or AT Guide); they have all the info you need on mileage, elevation profiles, and what you'll find where on the Trail.

franklin73
09-13-2016, 07:09
Thanks. I'm kinda waiting til the new AT book comes out next year. Unless I can find a used one to buy.

JC13
09-13-2016, 08:06