PDA

View Full Version : Quilt pad straps take or leave??

saltysack
09-16-2016, 15:53
Just got my new EE Enigma 20* quilt. I've never used quilt pad straps before as my other quilt a 45* summer quilt so not really needed. Curious as to other thoughts as I'll be headed out to Colorado Sunday. It will be used on an xtherm pad. Weather forecast the lows in upper 20's...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DuneElliot
09-16-2016, 15:56
Definitely use them. I wish my EE Convert had them...I see the new version does...there were a couple of nights recently I would have like to have pulled the bag/quilt around/under the pad and be able to secure it.

saltysack
09-16-2016, 16:26
Forgot to add it's a long/wide and I'm a stomach sleeper....5'11" 212lbs

DuneElliot
09-16-2016, 16:33
Me too. I actually toss and turn a lot when camping...I need a larger pad. I assume they are removable. If you don't like them, ship them home when you get to town.

misprof
09-16-2016, 16:33
You failed to mention if you are in a tent, bivi, or under a tarp. If the first two it is your call but if the third I would as your quilt is so light that you the breeze will blow it around and you will end up get drafts.

Just Bill
09-16-2016, 16:37
Forgot to add it's a long/wide and I'm a stomach sleeper....5'11" 212lbs

I don't use them- even with my SUL sized quilts. With the bigger ones- you can tuck in if needed. If you are really pushing the limits or getting drafts... I use 1/16" shock cord as a SUL version. You can just tie them onto the EE quilt tabs and meet them in the middle with a mitten hook.

Just Bill
09-16-2016, 16:38
You failed to mention if you are in a tent, bivi, or under a tarp. If the first two it is your call but if the third I would as your quilt is so light that you the breeze will blow it around and you will end up get drafts.
You probably have a crappy quilt.

Miner
09-16-2016, 16:46