PDA

View Full Version : Gossamer Gear Mariposa or Osprey Atmos 65 AG?

mikewagus
09-22-2016, 17:53
I'm new to backpacking and looking for some advice on purchasing a pack. I've done a good bit of research and can't decide which pack to go with. I'm stuck between the Mariposa and the Atmos 65 AG. I was fitted at REI with the Atmos and liked the way it felt. The only drawback is that it's over 4 lbs. and for the same money I can get the Mariposa that is just over 2 lbs.. My main concern with the Mariposa is the warranty (Osprey has a great warranty) and the fact that I can't try it on prior to purchase. I would hate to purchase the Mariposa and after several months of use decide that I should have bought the Atmos. On the flip side, I would hate to purchase the Osprey only to regret not going with the lighter pack. I'm on a budget and don't have extra money to double purchase items. Also, I will be section hiking no thru hikes for me, if that helps. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

stilllife
09-22-2016, 18:23
I have two Atmos 65's, one size large and one size medium, that are only a few years old and used only one time each, in mint condition, with rain covers. The large is the older model and the medium is two years old I think. They have both been hanging upstairs on a rack.
I will sale one or both. I'll have to check on the value and get back. I'm will be back at home this weekend and will post some pics if you like.

Scorpion
09-22-2016, 19:18
I used a Gossamer Gear (it was GVP Gear then) G4 for my thru in 04. After the hike the G4 was in pretty bad shape and I bought a Mariposa. I've used it for the last 10+ years, and it's still in good shape. I think it's a great pack, and it's on the light side. Of course now there are lighter packs out there, but the Mariposa is still a great pack. I definitely wouldn't attempt a thru with a 4# pack. That's way too heavy.
Scorpion

tflaris
09-22-2016, 21:38