PDA

View Full Version : Gossamer Gear Mariposa or Osprey Atmos 65 AG?

mikewagus
09-22-2016, 18:02
I'm new to backpacking and looking for some advice on purchasing a pack. I've done a good bit of research and can't decide which pack to go with. I'm stuck between the Mariposa and the Atmos 65 AG. I was fitted at REI with the Atmos and liked the way it felt. The only drawback is that it's over 4 lbs. and for the same money I can get the Mariposa that is just over 2 lbs.. My main concern with the Mariposa is the warranty (Osprey has a great warranty) and the fact that I can't try it on prior to purchase. I would hate to purchase the Mariposa and after several months of use decide that I should have bought the Atmos. On the flip side, I would hate to purchase the Osprey only to regret not going with the lighter pack. I'm on a budget and don't have extra money to double purchase items. Also, I will be section hiking no thru hikes for me, if that helps. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

-Rush-
09-23-2016, 02:00
I own both of these. The Atmos extremely comfortable and carries weight well, but it's a bit overkill IMO for a thru-hike. You did not state what your intention is.. are you thru-hiking or just backpacking? Without knowing this.. I'd probably carry the Mariposa if I were going to be thru-hiking. I'd carry the Atmos if I were backpacking and not pushing 10+ miles per day.

If you clarify your hike or purpose clearly, I'd be happy to elaborate on further on both packs.

MuddyWaters
09-23-2016, 05:28
Totally different packs
Depends on you, your gear, your hiking style.
Im guessing you have none to the above
So
Get all your other gear first
Then get a pack it will fit in
If you shop for high quality light compact gear $$$, and have disciplined approach to what you carry, you can use a lightweight pack
If you dont, you may need a sturdier pack.

Yes, many hikers start out heavier laden and switch gear getting lighter as they go.
Yes it costs $$$