PDA

View Full Version : More on tarps (Oware?)

ScottP
01-11-2006, 22:45
If using a catenary cut tarp, can I get away with using a smaller size? Oware claims that thier 6x8 cat. tarp is for 1.5 people, and that thier 7x9 tarp is for 2 people. They make similair claims for thier flat tarps. Are these assuming experienced use/bivy use?

Does anyone have any experience with golite's Cave? It looks like it is a tarp with beaks. I've read mostly medoicre reviews about Golite's other shelters online.

TwoForty
01-12-2006, 21:25
I would build a rayway tarp (same thing as the cave) before I bought a golite cave.
I have no experience with cat tarps. I know they offer a tighter pitch, less head room, and less versatility. I would think they would be perfect for the AT (windy ridges), but I would feel better in the 2 man cat tarp. Even then, it's a bit short for me.

general
01-13-2006, 09:44
more coverage is better. larger tarps add more versitility and an 8x10 can weigh as little as 10 oz. with the extra coverage of material you don't need beaks. beaks add weight, and the catenary cut takes material away that is essential for complete coverage in my opinion (ya can't pitch it all the way to the ground). guyouts in the middle of the sides of a rectangle tarp (pitched correctly) eliminates all wind problems.

Whistler
01-13-2006, 22:40
Tarps with a catenary ridgeline, like the models from Oware, Gossamer Gear, Bozeman Mountain Works, Mountain Laurel Designs, etc., can indeed be pitched with their sides directly to the ground.

The Cave can be a bit complex to pitch, with its beaks and assortment of guylines. Just about the simplest model you can find would be the GoLite Lair, which is pretty nice.