PDA

View Full Version : Footwear for NOBOs starting in early March

Engine
09-28-2016, 05:49
I've been hiking in trail runners for a few years and really enjoy it, but I haven't had to wear them in snow and slush. I could see where that might be miserable if not downright dangerous. We are thinking about starting out with lightweight boots and wearing them until they're worn out or Pearisburg, whichever comes first. Then we could switch to trail runners for the remainder of the trail.

What do you think?

peakbagger
09-28-2016, 07:40
I run trail runners until snow season and then switch to new balance winter boot. They don't offer them every year but generally I am quite happy with them and use them for winter hiking in the whites. Here is a link to their latest version http://www.newbalance.com/pd/fresh-foam-1000-boot/BM1000-V1.html?dwvar_BM1000-V1_color=Black_with_Grey#color=Black_with_Grey. I have used the prior version 1000 series and they held up pretty well. One major caveat is New Balance has lousy inserts supplied with their boots. I use heat moldable Montrails but other folks use superfeet.

jeffmeh
09-28-2016, 10:52
I run trail runners until snow season and then switch to new balance winter boot. They don't offer them every year but generally I am quite happy with them and use them for winter hiking in the whites. Here is a link to their latest version http://www.newbalance.com/pd/fresh-foam-1000-boot/BM1000-V1.html?dwvar_BM1000-V1_color=Black_with_Grey#color=Black_with_Grey. I have used the prior version 1000 series and they held up pretty well. One major caveat is New Balance has lousy inserts supplied with their boots. I use heat moldable Montrails but other folks use superfeet.

Interesting. Mostly day trips in the Whites in winter, or do you have a good technique for dealing with moisture/freezing without a removable inner?

peakbagger
09-28-2016, 10:59
VBL socks.

ScottTrip
09-28-2016, 12:11