PDA

View Full Version : Recommendation for dayhike near Harpers Ferry?

jley
10-01-2016, 15:39
Hi there... I've thru-hiked the PCT & CDT, but never set foot on the AT. I'll be visiting an area near Harpers Ferry this coming week & looking for a ~5-6hr day-hike somewhere in that area. I could always wing it & do an out-and-back going north or south from town - just to get some miles on my feet. But I'm just wondering if anyone had any tips or recommendations for that general area. For example, is there any "must-see iconic thing" in that area, or is there any reliable shuttle service so that I could do a one-way hike? (e.g. shuttle to a trailhead ~12 miles away, and hike back to my car in Harpers Ferry). Or, is there any way to connect to some other trail & make a loop? Also, is there anything in Harpers Ferry itself that I ought to check out?

Oh, I'm also a pretty avid photographer... so I'm always looking for that angle as well, though, it's not my main purpose for the hike.

I don't have to stick to Harpers Ferry either - I'll have a car, so could head an hour north/south... but Harpers Ferry would be most convenient.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Sandy of PA
10-01-2016, 16:38
The entire town is a National Park! If you like history you can spend multiple days in the town itself just going through all the exhibits. The AT goes right thru town and on to the C&O towpath. A hike in any direction heads uphill with a view of the rivers. A shuttle from the Blackburn Trail center south of Harper Ferry would give you a good hike back to town.(about 13 miles) 540-338-9028 for the PATC caretaker.

jley
10-01-2016, 20:14
Ha! shows you what I know... I'm pretty green about everything on the AT & hadn't done any research yet. Thanks a ton... I'll give that number a call next week & see what they say - your suggestion sounds pretty good. I'll try to leave a bit of time to check out the town too.

AegisIII
10-01-2016, 21:55