PDA

View Full Version : Is there a specific kickoff date?

dcdennis
10-19-2016, 07:14
Hi there,

I am new to the life but quickly falling in love. Did a lot of hiking this fall and even though I have no allusions of being able to thru-hike in 2017, I thought it would be fun to plan a long section to coincidide with the 2017 thru Hikers.

So my question is, is there any sort of official kickoff party at springer where the bulk of people intend to start on that day? Or is it just sort of haphazard?

Would love to meet some thru Hikers and get a little taste of the experience for a week or two.

cheers,
mr. soggy

Cheyou
10-19-2016, 07:23
Their is one for flip flopers ar Harper's Ferry. It's in April I think .

Thom

dcdennis
10-19-2016, 07:26
That's an interesting thought. I had thought I'd start at Springer with the regular NOBO'rs, but I actually live only 90 mins from HF, maybe I'll start with the flip floppers!

Would still like to hear about a potential Springer kickoff though.

map man
10-19-2016, 07:57
Here you go:

http://www.atko.info/Schedule.html

A ton of NOBO hopefuls start from Springer every day between March 1 and April 15 -- the numbers are even larger on weekends and the 1st and 15th of March and April. The Appalachian Trail Conservancy and the trail maintenance clubs in the south, however, have been working hard to discourage large concentrations of NOBOs at these times because they can overburden the trail and its support services.

If you start from Springer the second half of April you will still be around enough thru-hikers to get a good feel for thru-hiker trail culture but avoid really large numbers. You will also experience less winter-like weather.

JC13
10-19-2016, 09:44
We did a section from Springer in July and still ended up in a group of 7 people for a couple of days. People are out there all the time.

Fireplug
10-19-2016, 09:59