PDA

View Full Version : milage markers ?

penny b
10-22-2016, 20:45
I haven't been on the trail yet but still planning my journey. i understand there is " white blaze" markers to follow the trail and i see many people say they do 10 miles or 15 miles etc ... a day. So my question is : are there mile markers along the way to know how far you have come or do people use a pedometer ? how do each of you know what you have hiked for that day ??

ADVStrom14
10-22-2016, 20:54
I haven't been on the trail yet but still planning my journey. i understand there is " white blaze" markers to follow the trail and i see many people say they do 10 miles or 15 miles etc ... a day. So my question is : are there mile markers along the way to know how far you have come or do people use a pedometer ? how do each of you know what you have hiked for that day ??
I'm not an expert but I am measuring mileage using the guide book and data book. Those books have mileages for the destinations along the trail and in my planning I know how far I'm supposed to get each day and how many miles the book says it is from point A to B.

Jes

Studlintsean
10-22-2016, 21:22
Quick answer is no there are not mile markers. The guidebook/ topo maps allows you to determine where you are at a point in time and then the guidebook has mileage marked on it or a map has a scale so you can gauge your mileage based on where you are at the time you're checking it. I hope that makes sense

Sarcasm the elf
10-22-2016, 21:25
Generally people keep track using either the ALDHA Thru hiker's companion or the AWOL A.T. Guide, or more recently phone apps such ad Guthook's which I haven't tried. Both list out known refernce points with mileage.

https://www.amazon.com/Appalachian-Thru-Hikers-Companion-Distance-Association/dp/1889386960

http://www.theatguide.com

Here is an example from the ALDHA book.

(I promise the actual book is less blurry than my photo. ;) )

MuddyWaters
10-22-2016, 21:46