PDA

View Full Version : Zpacks Goose Down Hoodie or Beanie?

Rybir
10-28-2016, 09:07
Hello!

I am so close to finally starting the Arizona Trail. Six months in the making. I am getting out there late so I will see temperatures occasionally dip below freezing at night. I have very little experience in these kinds of conditions and wanted to get some final input.

At 29 degrees will a Zpacks Down Hoodie be well worth the investment... or will a beanie do the job?

Here is what I have:

Tarptent Stratospire 1
Zpacks 10 degree sleeping bag
Western Mountaineering Flash Hoody (also I was thinking if need be I just throw the hoody on)

Rybir
10-28-2016, 09:07
Ah, and I also have a Neoair Xlite.

Just Bill
10-28-2016, 09:10
I prefer synthetic insulation for headwear... don't have to worry about any sweat or body oils getting into your down. And if it's really cold you can wear it if needed around camp without worrying about getting moisture in it.

That said... about or barely freezing I'd probably be fine with a beanie, a fleece hat, and a buff or two

DuneElliot
10-28-2016, 09:12
I have found that around freezing temps that a beanie and my buff were sufficient. I have not tried the down hoodie but I am in the market for a ski mask as I did find one night at really high elevation to be a little chilly for me...that is more because I start off sleeping cold anyway. I was fine during the night.

Rybir
I prefer synthetic insulation for headwear... don't have to worry about any sweat or body oils getting into your down. And if it's really cold you can wear it if needed around camp without worrying about getting moisture in it.

That said... about or barely freezing I'd probably be fine with a beanie, a fleece hat, and a buff or two

Cool, this is what I was thinking: http://shop.outlier.nyc/shop/retail/merino-watch-cap.html

Rybir