PDA

View Full Version : Hiking in the dark

higuy111
11-13-2016, 11:55
Have you ever been hiking during the night?

For some it might seem frightening, for others exciting.

I personally had some really pleasant experience with that.

One of the most memorable was when me and my friends decided to go for a walk by the beach. It was 2AM and the moon was red.

After few hours it started getting cold and we were quite far away from our campsite.

We decided to make a campfire. Just on the sand. Best decision ever...

swjohnsey
11-13-2016, 12:44
I did it for a living for about 20 years.

TNhiker
11-13-2016, 13:10
One of the best hikes I have done was going up Leconte at night....

such a different experience and then to get to watch the sunrise and later the sunset from up there was great....

Another Kevin
11-13-2016, 14:58
I found myself night hiking yesterday. Daylight is getting short, so it was full night by the time I was back at the car. At least the Moon was nearly full, and I had a decent headlamp. I find that the New York Long Path blazes are more visible at night. That may have something to do with my odor blindness. The aqua blazes tend to blend into the tree bark in twilight or cloudy weather.

saltysack
11-13-2016, 15:08
I find myself night hiking often and really enjoy it especially during winter....careful with ice....a GOOD light is very important too me...the Zebra light H502 300lm works great...by far my favorite light to date...my second Zebra light...love them...with the $$$$

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

GoldenBear
11-13-2016, 16:10
Both times it was sheer, unadulterated hubris, with a little stupidity mixed in.