PDA

View Full Version : Talk to me about Stealth Camping

TylerJ76
12-01-2016, 10:46
I'm going to be NOBO

Are there specific sites?
Or is it just set up where you feel like?

I apologize, I am new to a lot of this.

soumodeler
12-01-2016, 10:56
Anywhere you see that will hold you and your tent. Unless it is off limits to camping.

garlic08
12-01-2016, 11:08
One definition of stealth camping implies trepassing or camping illegally. Hopefully we're talking about merely hiding from sight in allowable areas.

In the southern Appalachians, I usually found it exceedingly easy to find prime camp sites on public land just out of sight of the trail. In the hardwood forests with inches of leaf duff, you don't need a pad, and you often have to dig a pit down to mineral soil to get tent stakes to hold. It gets harder, sometimes very hard, in New England.

Sarcasm the elf
12-01-2016, 11:10
Just a quick head's up. The term "steath camping" has a disputed definition. Some people, including myself think it means camping in a way that has zero/near zero impact at an area that is not an established site. Others use the term to mean camping illegally. I assume you are referring to the first meaning.

LoneStranger
12-01-2016, 11:29
Stealth camping is a pass/fail endeavor. If no one on trail can tell you are there when you are there and no one standing where you camped can tell you camped there after you've left you have passed. Anything else is just camping.

MuddyWaters
12-01-2016, 11:39
I think of stealth as camping when you dont want to be noticed. Doesnt have to be illegal. Might be near road or non-hikers, etc.

Even on AT if you are near a shelter that weekend teenagers like to party at close to a road, you might want to "stealth".

You should remediate any campsite thats not heavily used.

Old Hiker
12-01-2016, 12:49
Stealthing to me was off the Trail where I couldn't see my own tent FROM the Trail except in the early months with no leaves anywhere.