PDA

View Full Version : Section Hiking

dmorrison
12-06-2016, 13:42
I live in Charlotte, NC and would love to do a thru hike but I am a school teacher and time just does not permit it. My "penciled in" plan is to start a hike near Bland, VA and hike as far north as I can beginning the end of May ending July 31st. Then I will pick up as much of the southern part of the trail as i can in long weekends and vacations in the fall. The following summer I will head back north and attempt to complete the northern section. Does this make sense to those of you in the know? Thanks for your help?

Rmcpeak
12-06-2016, 14:18
I'm a teacher too and have been using a lot of my time off over the last two years to section hike the AT with the intent of section hiking MD/PA line to Springer and then thru hiking MD/PA line to Katahdin at some point in the future. Here's my blog: http://hikingbob.blogspot.com.

Last summer I did Damascus to Pearisburg (and a couple of shorter sections too), which includes Bland. You might consider starting in Damascus as there are good hostels and outfitters there. Then hike north and see how much of VA you can get done in the time allotted.

I've hiked about 600 miles now. I should finish VA over spring break (Daleville to Waynesboro) and then I'll have MD/PA line to Damascus (almost Tennessee) hike, plus about 40 miles around Roan Mtn. in NC. The more I hike the more I want to start/stop where I last left the trail. That is, I'm now taking a more systematic approach, rather than just hiking whatever section looks good next.

There's no wrong way to go about it. Go for it!

dmorrison
12-06-2016, 14:28
Good info! Thanks for that and I will check out your blog!

Gambit McCrae
12-06-2016, 14:32