PDA

View Full Version : Is the ULA Ohm 2.0 right for me?

oreocereus
12-27-2016, 04:14
Howdy. I was close to purchasing the ULA Circuit, but I was offered a really good price the Ohm 2.0. I'm pretty new to UL, so had felt the circuit was a better transition bag (+ I also plan to travel overseas with this bag, for which I understood the Circuit to be a better choice for).
This is my overseas travel packlist: https://lighterpack.com/r/emvths
I think i would fit everything in the Ohm 2.0 fine, but am wary that with food I might be carrying too much weight in it? I'm also concerned about how well the Ohm 2.0 might travel on a plane. As the frame isn't really strong enough to withstood being thrown around in the back of a plane/bus/underneath other bags, I'd have to keep it on me - and it might be tricky to slip through as carry on.
Any thoughts? Are there any other options I should be looking at? My budget isn't really high enough for anything full priced.

map man
12-27-2016, 09:09
I can't speak to the question of airline travel, but I do use an Ohm 2.0. I have found the ULA recommendations on weight capacity to be exactly right: carries 25 pounds or less wonderfully; can carry 25-30 pounds with a bit of an increase in discomfort (straps digging into your shoulders); should not be used to carry 30 pounds or more. On one occasion I have carried eight days of food with it and that pushed my weight up to 32 pounds walking out of the NOC. The first three days (until I got the weight down to around 27 pounds) were definitely uncomfortable.

Dogwood
12-27-2016, 10:48
What do you intend to do traveling overseas? RU just going to hike, travel/ bebop through towns etc. Do you want to keep you pack with you on flights or are anticipating checking it in?

You said you're new to UL. Does that include disrespecting or being tough on your gear?

colorado_rob
12-27-2016, 11:07