PDA

View Full Version : Hexamid vs Solomid

fastfoxengineering
01-07-2017, 01:45
I'm really at looking into one of these tarps for my ground setup. I would get either in cuben. I would opt for the hexamid in .74oz as well.

The solomid deffinetly seems more bomber. The hexamid is slightly lighter with no zipper to break. I also assume it provides better ventilation. However, in a horrible storm. The solomid seems like it would perform better. Especially if camping on a bald.

Now, I'm looking for that do it all ground tarp. From the east coast to the west coast and everything in between.

I haven't decided on my bug protection yet. However it will be some sort of net tent or bug bivvy that I can use without the tarp.

I carry leki trekking poles.

Does anyone have any input on comparing these two shelters.

Downsides to each.

I'm fairly new to tarping. I have a 7x9 flat tarp I played with a bunch last summer and enjoyed it but i am deffinetly a shaped tarp person. Just a more efficient design albeit less pitching options. I'm okay with that.

I have also been a hammock hanger for quite some time and have used a wilderness logics tadpole and hammock gear cuben tarp with doors.

Until the bugs come around I'll be using a polycryo ground sheet.

Im leaning towards the solomid. Seems bomber. Slightly easier to setup, more storm worthy, and a proven design. Not that the heaxmid isn't proven. But in harsher conditions, the solomid has done well.

Any input to my fellow tarp users.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

MuddyWaters
01-07-2017, 04:58
You pretty much nailed it.

Mid is more bomber, easier setup, better protection
On small shelter like solomid , using the double pole extender strengthens and reduces sidewall deflection from wind , preserving room inside. But this adds weight. I think the solomid in this config is one of the strongest mid shelters supposedly. I have no experience wit it however.