PDA

View Full Version : Pack size question

globetruck
01-08-2017, 19:03
I've been backpacking for years but never any trips longer than 10 days; while I'm not a novice I'm also not a thru hiker. I typically carry an Aether 60 that's 25-35 lbs depending on trip length and time of year. Other than camp shoes, all my equipment fits inside the pack.

I've noticed a trend towards smaller packs and lighter weight equipment. But many of the YouTube videos that tout smaller packs (<50L) require that much of the equipment be strapped to the outside of the pack. At what point would it be more beneficial to just get a slightly bigger pack that is better optimized to carry all of your actual gear? It seems that upsizing the pack would add about 1.5 lbs of weight but wouldn't it be more comfortable to carry?

Just curious. Not looking to start any weight wars with this thread!

Thank you,
Globetruck

Hosh
01-08-2017, 19:17
I don't like stuff on the outside either, normally it's fly rod, camp shoes and that's it.

Striving to reduce overall pack weight really dictates that the pack be the last item selected/purchase. Not knowing what is on your kit, it's hard to say how much you could reduce and at what cost. But if you're doing 4-7 day trips at 25-35#, not sure why you'll need a bigger pack to thru hike, guess it depends on your plan.

At any rate, the Aether is a great pack, owned one several years ago, it's also 3-4#'s heavier than many UL packs. So you're now 21-31#'s if you change it at the same volume

bigcranky
01-08-2017, 19:50
The Aether 60 is a fine pack for a thru hike, which after all is just a series of 5-7 day hikes back to back to back.

I can fit all my gear inside my pack, but I sometimes choose to hang stuff on the outside to dry, or whatever.

Slo-go'en
01-08-2017, 20:34