PDA

View Full Version : Google Project FI coverage on the AT

mushdog
01-09-2017, 05:37
Hi, I'm new to whiteblaze and apologize if this is incorrect place to ask this question.

We are planning a southbound section hike through the 100 mile wilderness, my question is;
Does anyone know if the google FI project have good coverage along the trail?

Thanks

peakbagger
01-09-2017, 07:38
You are out of luck, the area is industrial forestland with no real demand to support cell towers. You may get lucky on mountain tops. Verizon is the best of the worst in much of Maine.

egilbe
01-09-2017, 07:44
It's very spotty coverage with US cellular (still better than ATT). Non existant with Sprint and T-mobile. Verizon is your best bet, but even then, its not more than 50% coverage.

Why would you need cell phone sevice anyway? You're hiking to get away from it all, correct? Why bring it with you?

Engine
01-09-2017, 07:46
Based on their coverage map it looks pretty bad up in that area.

mushdog
01-09-2017, 10:04
Thanks for the info. I did look at the coverage maps thanks for the confirmation on poor coverage in that area. And to reply to "egible", for me yes absolutely agree with leaving it behind and becoming one with the earth . However for my gal, it is her emergency safety line in case of major injury, and I also believe in being prepared within reason.

Happy hiking to ya'all

peakbagger
01-09-2017, 10:18
Time to check out SPOT or Inreach. Its been recently been beat to death in another thread but for an emergency safety line, you have two choices far better than a cell phone, a PLB or a SPOT/Inreach system. PLB is strictly one way emergency signal with no monthly fees, Spot/Inreach has a limited way of sending text strings, albeit at a monthly cost. Thus for your stated goal of major injury, the PLB is entirely adequate if on the other hand there are other unstated reasons why staying in touch is needed then Spot/Inreach.