PDA

View Full Version : alcohol or white gas?

harvcore
02-01-2003, 15:08
Since ive discovered this site i have gained valuable info on how to plan my own thru-hike next year. Ive read many well written threads arguing or disproving a myriad of topics. Im trying to decide whether to go with a white gas or an alcohol burning stove. I can see both plusses and minuses to both, but as a complete newbie, perhaps some of the more educated people that hang out on this site could offer up some advice. Im either going to go with the optimus nova or the trangia westwind. After a lot of research i decided on the optimus nova for its metal pump in lieu of the MSR plastic one. Ive also read they are vastly superior to the MSR in terms of simmering (which I really like).
Howerver, Im also partial to the trangia since alcohol is quieter, seems to be more fuel efficient and with no moving parts seems pretty much idiot-proof. Ive never used either type of stove before however i have a basic undedrstanding of how white gas is used however i have never used alcohol before but after hanging out on this site for a while it seems to be the way to go so I guess i need to be converted so to speak. If anyone has any input on either stove it would be greatly appreciated .

Moose2001
02-01-2003, 16:23
If you want to be convinced which is the best way to go, ask how many hikers who started at Springer were using white gas. Then ask how many that finished at Katahdin were still using white gas. IMHO, I'd bet you would find a huge majority that started with white gas made the switch to alcohol somewhere along the way. Lots of reasons why... but I think you covered most of them.

Happy
02-01-2003, 16:43
Alcohol...alcohol...alcohol ! Much lighter-fuel easy to find-and no parts to break, repair, etc.

poison_ivy
02-01-2003, 17:53