PDA

View Full Version : Briefs or Boxer Briefs

hyperslug
01-25-2017, 12:48
I have spent all my adult life in regular briefs but I keep hearing about chaffing of the thighs on long hikes. I've been backpacking for 40 years but not the daily grind of a thru hike. I doubt there is any scientific data but just trying to get a feel if boxer briefs are an absolute necessity and if so 6" vs 9"? Also would like to hear from those that completed the trail in briefs. Obviously I can switch along the trail if necessary. Thanks so much for any input. This forum is awesome!

Ktaadn
01-25-2017, 12:59
I always were UA boxerjock's with a 9" inseam when hiking. I had terrible issues with thigh chaffing prior to making the switch.

ScareBear
01-25-2017, 13:33
I've been moving to the Ex Officio boxer briefs from the Terramar boxer briefs...I like the Ex Officio fabric better...ahem...down there.....just sayin...

Patchy
01-25-2017, 14:16
Which ever is more comfortable for you... I prefer running shorts. My key to no-chaffing is Body Glide.

moldy
01-25-2017, 15:55
For me, the hotter it is, the worse it is for chaffing. The briefs that work best for me is non-cotton, tight fitting, mid-thigh. The chemistry of unwashed, wet briefs is a very high ph. For me it's not a rubbing issue so much as a alkaline burned sensitive skin issue. When I have this issue the medicine I like best is, Baby diaper rash cream. It's a antiseptic that repels moisture, lowers the ph and has the added benefit of a pain killer to make the baby (and me) shut up.

QiWiz
01-25-2017, 16:32