PDA

View Full Version : Packs and water

penny b
01-25-2017, 16:27
ok I went and got fitted for a pack today and really got a good idea what I want in my pack as of what i want for different features but .... I tried on a 50L but seems small to be able to fit everything for up to 5-7 days on the trail. I am also new to this hiking adventures so my question would be is a 50L workable or should I go 60-65L size pack?

Also looking into different water filtration systems ... what works best for you ? I know what works for one may not be best for another but i would love some feed back here . I was thinking the gravity so i can set up camp and all while filtering but then also thought of the ones we squeeze so not have to wait .

la.lindsey
01-25-2017, 16:33
My pack is a 55l pack. Most of the time it is not near capacity. In winter, with two sleeping pads and somehow 7 pairs of socks and micro spikes and a book and a whole bunch of other crap...yeah, things got pretty full (40 days, generally 5 days between resupply). But unless you buy a lot of bulky gear, most of the time, 50L will be just fine.

That said, I hiked with a guy who had a 70L pack and STILL had things tied to the outside, so, you know, know thyself.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

la.lindsey
01-25-2017, 16:34
And re: water: I have gone from sawyer mini in line to mini with bottles to no filter to a full size sawyer to no filter to chlorine tabs to no filter.

Just pick one, you'll probably change your mind later. I'd start cheap.

penny b
01-25-2017, 16:41
i still need to get all my gear and want to just take what i need and not so much " I might need this .... " and figure out how what a actual lay out in a pack should look like or general as everyone is different.

Thank you :)

Sarcasm the elf
01-25-2017, 16:44
If you only plan to own on pack, get the 65L. Just remember that you don't have to fill it up the whole way.

penny b
01-25-2017, 16:50