PDA

View Full Version : Need assistance for 06 hike

Oscar
01-22-2006, 19:57
I am a High School teacher that has proposed to my boss to be given a leave of absence to complete a thru hike this year. In order to be approved I have to show that the educational value of my experience will warrant my time off. Can anyone help me to think of ways I can incorporate my experience into a classroom activity.

Things I have thought of:
US Geography lesson
Journaling for English classes (read mine and write to me)
Nature study
I teach Tech Ed, more specifically TV Production so I will have my students create a video about my journey.
<O:p</O:p
Any other ideas that you can give me would really be appreciated. I have another meeting in a week where I have to present these ideas and then I will be told yes or no. <O:p></O:p>

joe 06 hopeful <O:p</O:p

Doctari
01-22-2006, 20:53
I teach Tech Ed, more specifically TV Production so I will have my students create a video about my journey.
<O:p</O:p
[FONT=Arial][SIZE=3]

A few years ago backpacker (back when it was a good mag) in cooperation with "Trail Side" did a video where they handed out video cameras to several "potential thru hikers" wherein they kept a video trail journal. It was well done, and perhaps a good idea for you. This was done around 8 - 10 years ago, and video cameras were lots heavier then.

I believe the video is still avalable at http://www.travelvideostore.com/index.php?cPath=808_1259 for about $20.00

Perhaps you could do something like this; have the kids: Edit, add comentary (history of area, geography, weather) & Produce a 1 to 2 hr compilation of your hike.

Perhaps you should view the trailside video, but not even let the kids know it exists. Let them do it on their own brain power.