PDA

View Full Version : Springer to woody

Dripline
03-01-2017, 10:47
We're planning to hike Springer to Woody gap in one day. We'll drop our car at woody and get shuttled to FR 40 parking area. Anyone out there do this? What time did you start and how many hours should we plan?

Trailweaver
03-01-2017, 11:39
Call the Hiker Hostel - they shuttle and can advise you on how long it might take. However, I notice you are from Florida. Are you prepared for mountain climbs? The Ga section is tougher in reality than it looks like on paper.

MuddyWaters
03-01-2017, 11:54
Hiker hostel only shuttles their guests

Dripline
03-01-2017, 12:21
Call the Hiker Hostel - they shuttle and can advise you on how long it might take. However, I notice you are from Florida. Are you prepared for mountain climbs? The Ga section is tougher in reality than it looks like on paper.
We've done several sections so far- one each year. Approach trail, Woody to Neels, Hogpen to Unicoi. I'm a veteran Adirondacks hiker with Mt. Marcy under my belt, so no stranger to tough trails. I'll probably use Ron's service for the shuttle. The first year we started this we did the approach trail round trip in a day looping past the Hiker Hostel on the way out so the mileage was around 18. Figured if we could do that, 21 shouldn't be problem. Just don't know how the terrain compares between the two.

Uncle Joe
03-01-2017, 12:22
The crux of that hike is between Hightower and Gooch. Lots of climbing in that section.

Dripline
03-01-2017, 12:32
The crux of that hike is between Hightower and Gooch. Lots of climbing in that section.
IfIdecidetodohalfthesectionisthereagoodplacetogeta ashuttlepickup?Andmaybesomeonecantellmewhymyspaceb arisn'tputtinganyspacesintoreply.I'mnewatthis.

JC13
03-01-2017, 12:36
IfIdecidetodohalfthesectionisthereagoodplacetogeta ashuttlepickup?Andmaybesomeonecantellmewhymyspaceb arisn'tputtinganyspacesintoreply.I'mnewatthis.It's a feature.