PDA

View Full Version : myths vs. facts

dch472
03-03-2017, 17:36
hello I am planning a through hike for the end of this month I am a novice hiker looking for seasoned hikers advice on anything from bear bags to Q-tips. thanks

Maineiac64
03-03-2017, 17:42
Go very light.

Sarcasm the elf
03-03-2017, 17:49
Go very light.

But not too light.

(That's not contradictory)

Deadeye
03-03-2017, 18:18
get your self together on some week and weekend hikes - a through is just a bunch of those strung together.

mountain squid
03-03-2017, 18:19
Welcome to WB!

You might need to be more specific. But in the mean time, you can check out a couple of my older threads:

some observations (https://whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?14493-observations-from-fs42-(advice-for-first-week-on-trail)&highlight=) - observations of hikers during the first day at Springer Mountain with in-general tips

how to hike (https://whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?73587-how-to-hike) - an interesting thread with links to other threads with wide ranging topics

Otherwise, I would suggest to start slow with low mileage days and to keep your weight to approx 30 pounds.

Good Luck and Have Fun!

See you on the trail,
mt squid

twitter (https://twitter.com/mountainsquid04)

Slo-go'en
03-03-2017, 18:20
Go to Amazon and down load this book "How to hike the A.T." "The nitty-gritty details of a long-distance Trek" by Michelle Ray. It will answer every question you have and many you didn't think to ask.

Then order the AT White Pages or the AWOL AT guide book. Download the Guthook AT guide. Spend about $1800 on gear if you haven't done so already.

MisterQ
03-03-2017, 18:20
Practice sleeping outside on your sleep system and make adjustments to make sure it is comfortable for you before you go.

Also, do not stick Q-Tips into your ear canal. It says so right on the instructions.

Lone Wolf
03-03-2017, 19:15
it's just walkin'

FreeGoldRush
03-03-2017, 19:19