PDA

View Full Version : it's not just walking

Pages
03-03-2017, 20:43
it's not just walking.

hiking the Appalachian Trail is hard.

period.

saying it is otherwise is doing an injustice to the novice and naive on this forum.

JumpMaster Blaster
03-03-2017, 20:50
Time to grab some popcorn...

ImAfraidOfBears
03-03-2017, 21:02
who or what are you addressing

Sarcasm the elf
03-03-2017, 21:04
I did some glissading over the weekend just north of Greylock does that count?

cmoulder
03-03-2017, 21:10
It's walking with camping gear and food. Sometimes in crappy weather.

Did I miss something? :)

Lone Wolf
03-03-2017, 21:11
it's not just walking.

period.

saying it is otherwise is doing an injustice to the novice and naive on this forum.

i was a novice and naive once. didn't have the interweb, books or movies when i first walked the AT. it was just walkin' to me. i didn't find it very hard physically :)

Sarcasm the elf
03-03-2017, 21:14
It's walking with camping gear and food. Sometimes in crappy weather.

Did I miss something? :)

Yes,

Usually it's walking where it's okay to pee.

4shot
03-03-2017, 21:17
it's not just walking.

period.

over the years I have read here (and peculiarly enough, only here on WB) that it is "just walking" and agree with you...paints a false picture of the task at hand. Maybe it IS a lark for a lucky few. But for most, especially the 3 of 4 who don't finish the thing, it is anything BUT a stroll in the park. Or perhaps I should say a 'walk in the woods" instead. I have always felt those who use that term, especially vis-a-vis a thru hike, are being a bit disingenuous for whatever reason they might have. now if you will excuse me, I think my popocorn is ready too.

Pages
03-03-2017, 21:44
for the 20% who drop at neel and the 50% who drop out by the time they get your neck of the woods, lone wolf, they might feel differently.
if you are lucky enough to find it a stroll then in my opinion you are very lucky indeed.