PDA

View Full Version : gas or alcohol?

harvcore
02-01-2003, 19:57
im getting geared up for my 2004 thru-hike and i have yet to decide on a stove. at the moment im considering 2--the optimus nova and the trangia 27. ive never used either white gas or alcohol before so im relativeley clueless to the benifits/hindrance of using either. after alot of research i can see both the plusses and the minuses for both. i like the metal pump of the optimus and the apparent ease of simmering and i also like the relative ease and idiot-proofness of the trangia but as a complete newbie i was wondering if the more edcuated people might be able to shed some insight as to which may be a better purchace

garraty
02-02-2003, 16:15
Almost everyone ends up getting rid of their white gas stove and switching to something lighter and simpler. Most switch to an alcohol stove, usually one of the homemade versions, and carry the fuel that is widely available and cheap in a soda bottle. The only commonly used alternative, solid fuel such as Esbit, is even lighter and convenient in that it can be mailed by air, but considerably more expensive.

bretb
02-02-2003, 22:20
I'd go the alcohol route. I've used my Cat stove in all kinds of conditions and I haven't ever regretted it.

pobbie
02-20-2003, 17:55
depends. White gas stoves are heavy,expensive, and have lots of parts to break. However, they heat like rokets and can simmer for extended periods of time.