PDA

View Full Version : New to southern AT, Question about bugs

Dirty Paws
03-15-2017, 20:28
Questions about bugs- I plan to start at Springer ~4/10->4/15.

Since I never hiked the AT south of New England I don’t know how bad the bugs can get down there.
I’m assuming the bugs will activate sometime after the trees green, around mid May- is that right? How are the mid atlantic states for bugs?

Is it a good idea - or even a necessity- to get a head net for the bugs while hiking? Is it worse than June in Maine? I’ve never used a net before but I know Maine can get pretty bad. I remember spending days swatting at gnats that go for the eyes, biting flies, black flies, TICKS, and of course mosquitoes.

Are there other kinds of bugs that you don’t get in New England that I should prepare for down south?

Is DEET the best deterrent? Oh yeah- do I need to keep an eye out for poison ivy on the trail?​

Advice & thoughts are welcome, & sorry for the discordant jumble of questions.
Thank you

bigcranky
03-15-2017, 21:59
I've been hiking around here for 30 years, never had an issue with bugs where I needed a head net. Maybe some DEET once in a while. Ticks are more of a concern for me.

Now there are some places at the coast where you can get carried away by mosquitos, especially some of the uninhabited barrier islands. But not on the AT in my experience.

Tipi Walter
03-15-2017, 23:25
I won't go out during bug season in the Southeast (March thru October) without my sea to summit headnet. We have gnats which swarm the face and get into ears and nose and mouth and eyes and so the net really helps. Noseeums really suck, too. How much does the headnet weigh? Nothing.

Slo-go'en
03-16-2017, 00:22
The gnats can be a little annoying, but I never found them to be much of a problem and aren't as viscous as black flies. Maybe my timing has been good and never been there when they are really bad.