PDA

View Full Version : approach trail or no?

mostlyfreebird
03-15-2017, 23:34
Hey all... about to leave for my hike on April 3rd. I haven't really heard much feedback about doing the 8 mile approach trail to Springer, or skipping it. What do you think? What worked for you, what are you planning on doing?

Just wondering why some people choose to do it or not. Thanks! Happy hiking

Uncle Joe
03-15-2017, 23:39
If you want a good taste of the climbing that lies ahead on the trail you'll get it on the approach. The next 8 miles from Springer are more easy going up to Hightower Gap. I started my section hike at Springer. I was a complete newbie. I later came back to hike the Approach. I was glad I didn't hike it when I first started but frankly it's no harder than what lies ahead it's just first.

Lone Wolf
03-15-2017, 23:41
no. skip it

MuddyWaters
03-15-2017, 23:53
I say have the best of both worlds....

Hike 1/2 of the approach trail
Dilema solved

Your welcome.

rafe
03-16-2017, 00:03
Ah here we go again.

Thru-hiking is kinda dumb to begin with. So what's another eight miles of brain-deadness on top of the other two thousand? YOLO. Isn't that what the kids say?

Lone Wolf
03-16-2017, 00:06
Ah here we go again.

Thru-hiking is kinda dumb to begin with. So what's another eight miles of brain-deadness on top of the other two thousand? YOLO. Isn't that what the kids say?

if you're gonna hike your first 9 miles of a 2200 mile walk on a blue- blazed trail then why not walk every blue-blazed trail between ga. and me. ?

Wooobie
03-16-2017, 00:15
no dont do it

Slo-go'en
03-16-2017, 00:50
if you're gonna hike your first 9 miles of a 2200 mile walk on a blue- blazed trail then why not walk every blue-blazed trail between ga. and me. ?

Well, you do hike a lot of blue blaze trails just getting to and from shelters or water sources and those probably add up to quite a few extra miles by the time your done.