PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Planning a Weekend Hike at Delaware Water Gap

"Bud"
04-07-2017, 11:14
I am trying to plan a trip for next weekend but I am having a tough time.I want to do water gap to high point but am worried this may be too much for 2.25 days. I have never hiked this area and have heard it is a very nice. I was looking into parking at Dunnfield (mile 1295.4) and hiking at dusk to the backpackers site (1298.9). I am worried this will be very crowded on a nice weather spring weekend but see that there are also tent sites in the 1302-1305 stretch further up the hill and around the mohican outdoor center. Anyone have any current GPX tracks of this area?

Sorry I am pretty new to this and the regulations seem much tougher to abide by than what I am used to.

somers515
04-07-2017, 12:19
Welcome to whiteblaze! Sorry I don't have the GPX tracks. Personally that would be too many miles for me in 2.25 days. I think you might find it more enjoyable if you broke that section roughly into half. Either go from DWG to Culver's Gap (Route 206) or Culver's Gap to High Point. I am familiar with the trail in NJ so if you have any other questions I'd be happy to try to help. The regulations don't seem to tough to abide by for me but maybe that's because I'm from NJ. I think most AT hikers from other states are pleasantly surprised by how nice the NJ AT is. Enjoy!

Slo-go'en
04-07-2017, 13:41
Looks like I broke it up into 3 days, 12.8 from the PA/NJ line to the campsite just past the Mohican center, 18 miles to Glen Anderson and then 13 miles to High point. Those last 13 miles were done in a cold rain, so was glad just to get to a shelter!