PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping bag packed size vs Osprey Exos 48

fivemillionsteps
04-26-2017, 22:55
Hi -

I'm not new to camping, but am new to backpacking, and can use all of the help that I can get. I've been scrounging & making stuff for the past several months for a backpacking trip and have a good start.

I just got an Osprey Exos 48 and realized how much of the internal space a sleeping bag will take. Is there a general rule of thumb regarding the stuffed size of a sleeping bag relative to the size of your pack? I've started looking for a down filled bag rated 20 degrees (comfortable in low 30's?) that will fit my pack and budget.

A couple of 3 season bags that I saw tonight are these...

1) Kelty Cosmic Down 20 Sleeping Bag $169 Stuff Sack Size 8x14 inches 3 lbs. 1.6 oz
2) The North Face Furnace 20 Sleeping Bag $189 Stuff Sack Size 9x16 inches 2 lbs. 12 oz.

I suppose that obtaining a compression sack would help save space too.

Any thoughts or suggestions welcomed.

Randy

Uncle Joe
04-26-2017, 23:09
Don't use a compression sack. Just stuff the bag into the bottom of your pack. A stuff sack will leave gaps that simply stuffing your bag will fill in. Definitely look at Down for best insulation and compressibility. The Cosmic Down gets good reviews. Take a look at some top quilts as well.

MuddyWaters
04-26-2017, 23:24
It depends
The farther you want to hike, the more room you need for food. All that matters really is your stuff fits.

I abide by this as a rough guide:

AllDownhillFromHere
04-26-2017, 23:44