PDA

View Full Version : Osprey recalls baby carrier backpacks

rocketsocks
05-01-2017, 05:46
https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2017/osprey-recalls-child-backpack-carriers

Traveler
05-01-2017, 06:30
"I coulda sworn I put little Dadwalider in the carrier when I got water about 4-miles back...."

BuckeyeBill
05-01-2017, 06:40
Thanks for the info. After reading the reading the recall notice one thing didn't seem right. Osprey is offering a free seat pad insert (Thank you Osprey). But it said use this in addition to the existing safety straps. Now I had two children who produced five grand children. Every seat carrier, back pack, car seat and some more I can't remember all came with a five point restraint system. Nothing short of a nuclear device could get them out of those restraints. I was a police officer at the time and made sure the seat was properly secured in the vehicle and when carrying them in a backpack they were also properly restrained. I stopped people for various violations and took notice when the child was not restrained properly or not at all. The parent's excuse was normally "He/She was getting fussy."
In Canada 5,732 units were sold with 4 reported injuries. Please correct me if I am wrong but that works out to .0006%. This sounds more like improper restraint use than anything else. Oh well I hope those four kids are OK, as well as any other children that were injured.

rocketsocks
05-01-2017, 08:02