PDA

View Full Version : AT section with kid

wcalvert
05-02-2017, 06:59
My seven year old son and I have limited hiking experience but both of us want to go on either a long weekend or weeklong hike on the AT this summer. Number of days and nights is flexible.

I'm looking for advice on what sections may be best for us to start with. Any advice would be welcome.

We went to 52 national parks in the last year but now it's time to dig deeper and explore nature up close and personal on the AT.

Please forgive me if I'm doubling up from another topic. New here.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

egilbe
05-02-2017, 07:23
Why the AT? Why not a trail closer to home? Ozark trail, perhaps?

Pastor Bryon
05-02-2017, 07:26
Good on you! I hike with my now teenage daughter and it has been a blast. At seven years old and limited hiking experience, my advice would be to not get hung up on how many miles you hike. If you push it and make it miserable, it may be the last trip you take with him.

As far as sections, sure, I'm partial to Virginia, and you can hit the trail on a straight shot from I-64 here. I think my advice might be things to avoid, like climbing the Priest nearby or doing the Roller Coaster in Northern Va. IMO, you want something a little challenging, but these are two that come to mind that I wouldn't recommend your first hike to be on.

There are many, many great sections. Are you going shelter to shelter? How easily can you make camp for the night if no shelter around? The availability or lack thereof of established campsites should guide your decision as well. Some places the shelters are 15+ miles apart.

Just a few rambling thoughts of my own. If you do decide to go anywhere here in Central VA, pm me, you'll be in my backyard and I'm happy to help with logistics.

Best
Col. Hannibal Smith
"I love it when a plan comes together!"

Teacher & Snacktime
05-02-2017, 07:32