PDA

View Full Version : Your expertise, please. How big is your food bag & what size should I get?

LucyInColor
05-07-2017, 18:06
I'm organizing a six day section hike & am planning to hang my food & pack at night, (our packs probably won't fit inside our 2 man tent). I'm splurging on food & eating mostly freeze dried. I could wait until all my food is arranged on the floor at home & then figure out what to stuff it in, or ... you see where I'm going? I'm a complete newbie at bear bag hanging. Never done it before. I'll learn & practice before I leave, but I wonder about the actual bag I'll be hoisting.

How large a bag do I need for six days? How many cubic inches? Do you leave extra room for your stove, toothpaste & other smellables in your bear bag? Is a Ursack necessary if I'm hanging from a tree? Will any waterproof stuff sack do? I like the idea of a lightweight or ultra light bag that is rodent proof but not necessarily bear proof. What bag do YOU use?

BuckeyeBill
05-07-2017, 18:29
I went through several waterproof bags used as bear sacs all from 550 to 650 cubic inches. I finally bought a Ursack All-Mitty. It offers protection from both bears and critters. I know it is a little pricey but it has held up very well and still looks new if I wash it. If you seal the seams, the bag is waterproof. I line it with a Large Opsak. It is 650 cubic inches and will hold your 6 days worth of food.

egilbe
05-07-2017, 18:35
I went through several waterproof bags used as bear sacs all from 550 to 650 cubic inches. I finally bought a Ursack All-Mitty. It offers protection from both bears and critters. I know it is a little pricey but it has held up very well and still looks new if I wash it. If you seal the seams, the bag is waterproof. I line it with a Large Opsak. It is 650 cubic inches and will hold your 6 days worth of food.
Whats an all-mitty? Never heard of it.