PDA

View Full Version : Critique my gearlist, please!

mindi
01-28-2006, 00:59
I'm not leaving for my AT thru until March 22nd of '07, and I'm probably going to have most of my gear within a few months, so I have plenty of time to test out everything and replace what I don't like or what doesn't work for me. This is a VERY tentative list...I want feedback but remember I'm new to this so try not to be too mean :o ...The stuff with a star next to it I either already have or it is on its way..Clothing includes what I'll be wearing.

Gregory G Pack*
Tent-Not sure yet,thinking of MSR Hubba or similar
Bag-Cat's Meow 20 deg*
Tent stakes
silk bag liner*
Thermarest*
2 trash compacter bags (One to line pack and one for sleeping bag/sleep clothes)
Silnylon bag cover*
ION alcohol stove with potstand and windscreen
lighter
3 pairs Smartwool socks (have one pair now and I LOVE them)
possibly cheap liner socks, have to do some more hikes before I decide if I need them
Rainjacket*
3 bandannas*
gloves or mittens
1 long-sleeve silk top long underwear
1 silk bottom long underwear
1 wicking t-shirt
1 midweight long underwear bottom
1 midweight long underwear top
200 wt. fleece jacket
men's swim trunks
rainpants
balaclava
crocs*
gaiters*
food bag*
walmart grease pot
titanium spork*(someone is sending me this, but I may switch to a spoon)
fuel for stove in a water bottle
duct tape wrapped on a pencil or poles
small notepad
Gatorade bottle plus 2L bag for water
Klearwater(not sure how many bottles to take)
small pack baby wipes
small amount of toilet paper
diva cup
toothbrush and baking soda or toothpaste dots
small stick sunscreen
small DEET
lip balm
foot powder
small bottle Dr. Bronner's (repackaged to a smaller container)
piece of fruit netting for scrubbie
first aid kit with moleskin, tweezers, 1 gauze pad, 1 bandaid, and packet of neosporin
extra small knife
headlamp
rope for bearbagging
camera
extra memory cards for camera
2 extra batteries for camera/headlamp