PDA

View Full Version : Two Days To Go: Last min questions

FooFooCuddlyPoops
05-18-2017, 14:52
Hey guys and gals,

I am hiking the At from Damascus - rt 603 fox creek coming this weekend. It's about 40 miles. I calculated that It will take me about four days to hike the trail, ten a day. I will be back to the car by the end of the fourth day. (Bringing extra dinner just in case)

Can you guys look over my vital gear pieces and pinpoint any problems? Not going to post all my gear, I just want to know if my clothing, and such will be good enough. I am a novice backpacker. I have hiked overnight, but never multi-night before. This will be the longest trip I have ever done, and also in a new area entirely.

Weather seems to be decent: High 70's, Low 50's. Possible thunderstorms. Rain all day at least one day.

Gear:
Netless Hammock System (Dialed in over the past year of usage.)
Tarp
20o down sleeping bag that I use open as a TQ.
30o Under Quilt

Note: I have a bug net, but wasn't going to bring it because it has to be fixed due to a pretty decent rip in the fabric.
Sound okay in going netless?

Cloths:
Work out Capris (hike in)
Work out Short sleee shirt (hike in)

Long Sleeve shirt (sleep in/cold weather)
Long Heat Tech Leggings (sleep in/cold weather)

Rain Poncho.

Camp Flops

One down jacket that can get me to about 30o degrees without special undershirts.

Note: I sleep warm, and am carrying warm gear mixed with my sleepwear just in case it gets chilly. Sound okay for Grayson highlands area? Should I add a cold weather cap, gloves, etc? I am inexperienced with the weather on the balds.

The rest of the gear is typical. I am bringing two smart water bottles and a Platypus 2l water bag. Think thatsover kill for water storage?

ChuckT
05-18-2017, 15:18
Last Oct found water scarce south of Damascus. I would _definitely_ take the Platypus! You don't have to carry it full, water is heavy 😨, but I start looking for a refill when I've got 1 quart left in mine.