PDA

View Full Version : Possible 2018 NOBO Hike

Nathan428
06-06-2017, 01:01
Hey everyone!

I'm just getting started on the forum! Loving what I've read so far.

I've been thinking about hiking the AT for about 8 years now. I had a high school teacher go on sabbatical to do it, and it just seemed like such an amazing experience. I'm hoping that 2018 will be the year it actually happens for me - I'm applying to law school in the fall, and if, fingers crossed, I get accepted on the early side of things (it's rolling admission), I might be able to quit my job in time to get a thru hike done before I start school the following year.

I've been poking my head in and out of random threads. I see mentions of AT guides. I've read info on the ATC website. Does anyone have a recommendation of where to start? Where would you direct a beginner? I'm looking for anything that will help me learn - good ideas for practice hikes before I go, suggestions for gear to try out, information on the route, whatever!

I hope this isn't too broad! Thanks for the help.

Nathan

DownEaster
06-06-2017, 03:35
There's a woman who hiked the AT as a beginner a couple of years ago (and is hiking the PCT now). She did a bunch of videos covering lots of through-hike-related topics (gear, clothing, hygiene, ...), plus individual trail videos throughout her hike; there's even an e-book available at Amazon.com. Her YouTube channel is Homemade Wanderlust (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQhqmV26773qZhzqJz4VFcw).

Venchka
06-06-2017, 07:38
Homemade Wanderlust is fun. You might be persuaded to go West first.
I'm having a hard time getting thru hike budget and law school budget in the same paragraph.
Realistically, get your budget ready. While you're doing that get in shape.
Seriously, the AT is not the only place to hike.
Wayne

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Indigo Hawk
06-06-2017, 17:40
Definitely watch Dixie on Homemade Wanderlust. She's got some good videos on tips and things too.