PDA

View Full Version : Dumb question about reading maps

Jeanette
01-30-2006, 20:55
So when you're looking at an elevation profile, does the mileage scale at the bottom give you the mileage "as the crow flies"? Or does it take into account the ups and downs that you encounter as you make your way from point A to point B? If your elevation changes a lot, it would be a potentially significant difference in mileage, compared to if you went straight from point A to point B on a flat plain, right?

I can't believe I've been backpacking for 14 years and am still a really lousy map reader.

I thought it would be less embarrassing to ask this question of a group of women rather than endure the virtual male eye-rolling that I might encounter elsewhere. ;)

jughead
01-30-2006, 21:08
I would say that if it is an elevation profile that it would be taking into consideration the ups and downs.

johnny quest
01-30-2006, 21:28
the distances you see on the map legend scale are "as the crow flies." experience and training....and more experience will teach you to estimate actual distances. very very very often the closest route doesnt lie in a straight line, but in a less extreme contour.

Topcat
01-30-2006, 21:35
All distances on a map is as the crow flies. Profiles dont always tell the story so learn to read the contours and enjoy what comes your way, for every up there is a down.

Mouse
01-30-2006, 21:40
The distance on a map is the horizontal distance, as the crow flies. That does bring up an interesting question, since I gather the total length of the trail was measured by a wheel so would be the true distance. I wonder whether the distance on the profile map is made from that measurement or from measureing the trail as laid out on the map, or is some other system used?
:-?

Sly
01-30-2006, 21:45