PDA

View Full Version : Hipbelt & Shoulder Strap pockets

Wyoming
01-31-2006, 20:43
I have a Granite Gear Nimbus Latitude that I have been using for about 6 months. It is an ok pack and I have carried as much as 37 pounds in reasonable comfort this winter. However, when using the pack for winter travel it does have a couple of issues that would make it a lot better in my eyes.

First, is that I want hipbelt pockets and shoulder strap pockets that are removable.

For the hipbelt an ideal size would be about 75 cu in and be about 3 in thick, 4 in deep and 6 in long. To mount them the pocket could have a sleeve for the 1" hipbelt strap that could be run through the pocket and then back through the buckle or it could mount via a velcroed set of flaps. Zipper on top. They could be waterproof or have drain holes in the bottom in order to deal with rain. (I don't like to take have to take the pack off all the time to get food, compass, knife, maps, camera, etc)

For the shoulder straps an ideal size would be about 2 x 2 x 4 inches. They could attach via clip on the top (there is a D-ring attachmenet at the top of the strap that is in an ideal place. To attach the bottom of the pocket one could use velcro flaps again.

Does anyone know where such pockets can be obtained? I have looked for suppliers that sell aftermarket pockets and have been unsuccessful as yet in finding something that fits my needs.

Another weakness of the design of this pack (at least for winter use) is that there are no daisy chain loops (equipment attachment loops) on the pack. The pack is just not big enough inside to be able to carry the extra gear needed for sleeping in snow (i.e. extra pad, winter clothes, additional food requirements, etc). I had to jury rig staps that i wound through the compression straps to hold pads and tent on the outside. It annoyed me everytime I had to stap them on. I intend to find someone who can sew the needed straps/buckle's/loops on for me.

Wyo

Alligator