PDA

View Full Version : Sawyer Squeeze

twinsinpa
08-12-2017, 12:48
SO i am new to backpacking - and was wondering about the sawyer squeeze filter. is this all i need to be able to drink the water along the trail? no chemicals needed? thanks!
Also - how easy is it to fill those bags if the water isn't really running? seems late to ask this as i already bought one however.......

soumodeler
08-12-2017, 13:34
Works great. All you need is a cut off bottom of a plastic water bottle or something similar for a scoop to fill the bag in low water.

Dont nut forget to protect it from freezing during colder weather.

DownEaster
08-12-2017, 13:35
Yes, in the U.S. and Canada that's all you need. The bags aren't easy to fill directly in shallow water, but you can just scoop the water up in your cookpot and pour it into the bag. You're going to be heating the cookpot to boiling temperatures anyway, so that use won't have a health risk.

twinsinpa
08-12-2017, 15:39
awesome! thanks for the info.

rhjanes
08-12-2017, 22:47
+1 on using like a cut up Smart water bottle for the "scoop". You can also roll up the bag, the filter, any adapters and put inside the water bottle. I then have it all in a mesh ditty bag to keep it all together. If you use the Smart water bottles with the flip top thing on them, those can be used to backflush the Sawyer! (or, just carry one of those bottle tops). Do some searches as people have lots of ways to alter and use the Sawyer filters.

Busky2
08-12-2017, 22:59
I have ditched the bags they bust and leak over time and use a life water bottle that have never failed me for collecting water then I just screw on the filter and squeeze away straight into me or a second bottle or a camelbak. I have a zip lock freezer bag if I have to scoop from a shallow spot along with a small plastic adapter to backwash fresh water back through the filter to clean it out. Never plan to use those bags again.

Rex Clifton
08-13-2017, 07:25