PDA

View Full Version : First aid kit

Sunny2000
08-15-2017, 20:36
Hi guys,

I am a newbie from Australia and I decided to train myself up here in Australia before doing the AT.

At this stage I am getting all prepared for my first big hike and was wondering, what you take with you in your First Aid Kit?
Obviously you will need the essentials, but it should not become too big and bulky either.

Any tips and hints?

MuddyWaters
08-15-2017, 20:42
needle
unwaxed dental floss - 6 ft
tweezers
6 ft duct tape
couple bandaids
couple little bandaids
gauze pad
triple antibiotic packets x 2
alcohol wipe x 2
ibuprofen x 30
immodium x 3 days
benadryl x 1 day

The gimp3
08-15-2017, 20:58
Ibuprofen and lots of it.

Hatchet_1697
08-15-2017, 21:14
Hi Sunny, I carry

Alcohol wipes, individual packs (lots)
Assorted size bandaids
Tribiotic packs
Steri-strips
Very small Wound Seal packet
Duct tape (wrapped around my hiking poles)
2 sizes of gauze pads (regular cleans better than the non-stick type)
Large safety pins (used with bandanna, etc. to make an arm sling or stabilize an ankle/knee)
Bug Sting Relief wipes
Tick removal tool
20 gauge sterile piercing needles (yup, sterile, light, and pops a blister great!)

Small Swiss Army knife with scissors (scissors are very useful)

Also, Motrin (pain, inflammation, fever reduction), very small bottle of eye drops, and whatever personal meds your body needs.

The amount I carry depends on how long l'm out for. I figure the above along with a bandanna to cut up will take care of blisters, cuts, sprains, and small breaks. Anything bigger there's always someone coming down the AT who can help. Up North on the AT and in other remote areas I carry an InReach Explorer GPS communicator.

On the AT you are almost always a day or three from an egress point, and usually there are people around to help if it's a bad injury.

Total weight in 1 quart freezer bag and outer high visibility yellow bag is 2.95 ounces. For a 2-3 day trip minus meds.