PDA

View Full Version : Section Hiking Question. Where to start my research?

joshuaeweston
09-17-2017, 12:34
Hello all,

I live in San Diego and work about 15-20 minutes from the start point of the Pacific Crest Trail. I have extensive knowledge section hiking this trail and know enough about California to be able to plan most hikes along the way, but my brother and I are planning on hiking the Appalachian Trail in the spring for about a week and we're clueless about the area.

Does anyone knew of any towns within the first 100 miles or so of the AT where I'd be able to get off of the trail and back to civilization? I'm a teacher and need to be back to teach class, so I'll probably have 5 days to spend on the hike, but I probably could extend this by a couple days if necessary.

I figure we'll be going between 15 and 20 miles a day (we're both in great hiking shape). 15 miles a day puts us almost exactly at the Georgia-North Carolina border, 20 miles a day puts us on the tip of Albert Mountain. Any tips on getting off the trail at or around these mileages?

Thanks a lot for any help you can give!

tflaris
09-17-2017, 12:40
Yogi’s Pct Guide Book
Guthook Phone App
Journals
YouTube videos

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ethesis
09-17-2017, 12:40
Shuttle service was able to drop us off at the Georgia border

Some are not as comfortable with the road as others.

There are a lot of road crossings at that end of the trail.

Ethesis
09-17-2017, 12:42
http://www.summitpost.org/appalachian-trail-mileage-chart/593282

should help.

almost every "gap" is a road crossing where a shuttle can pick you up.

Also:

http://www.atdist.com/

Ethesis
09-17-2017, 12:44
Free maps are available too online.

MuddyWaters
09-17-2017, 12:49
Theres lots of people that shuttle...and can get you to an airport or greyhound bus station.