PDA

View Full Version : Newer than Newbie

MomA2Z
10-11-2017, 11:12
I have been wanting to do a hike for a while. Other than hiking maybe a mile around in local parks I have no experience, no gear etc. So I am starting from scratch. My plan is to do a section of the APT in North Carolina. Maybe a 3-4 day hike and if that goes well I would like do something longer. What advice would you give to a newer than newbie?

Starchild
10-11-2017, 11:46
Look up local hiking clubs and meetup groups and look for a beginner backpack. You can learn a lot from other backpackers and they should make sure you are prepared.

Spirit Walker
10-11-2017, 11:50
Start with dayhikes. Gradually increase the length of your hikes. When you can hike 12 miles or so, go on an overnight hike with an experienced hiker or group. Go about half the distance each day that you can dayhike, because the weight of a pack makes a big difference. Take your time buying gear. Rent or borrow a pack, tent, sleeping bag etc. if you can so you have some idea what you need/want. You don't want to spend a lot of money for an activity you may not want to continue.

PS - it's the AT, not the APT.

Back on the trail
10-11-2017, 12:00